top of page

It's Therapeutic Thursday!

Today is Therapeutic Thursday at Aortic Hope.

In Healthline, Ayana Denk writes in the article titled, The 5 Stages of Grief That Come with a New Medical Diagnosis:

"The type of grief that comes with chronic illness is complex.

Grief is an experience that can completely consume you mentally, physically, and emotionally — and it doesn’t just happen with the traditional sense of loss.

In fact, going through the stages of grief can happen as a result of any major life change.

For many disabled and chronically ill people, grieving your health after a new medical diagnosis can be an unexpected challenge. The type of grief that comes with chronic illness is complex, and the cycle can often restart each time a new issue presents itself.

Here, we look at the standard five stages of grief according to Swiss-American psychiatrist Elizabeth Kubler-Ross, but through our relationships to our own bodies and what it means to mourn ourselves."

To learn about how the 5 Stages of Grief impact individuals with challenging medical issues, check out the article here.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page